本征模式展开法( EME )计算引擎

作为MODE Solutions中现有本征模式计算引擎Eigenmode和2.5D变分法时域有限差分计算引擎(varFDTD)的补充,Lumerical的最新2D/3D双向本征模式展开法( EME)计算引擎使得MODE Solutions成为光纤和波导元器件的虚拟原型制造成为最完整和最全面的设计软件。

该E-mail地址已受到防止垃圾邮件机器人的保护,您必须启用浏览器的Java Script才能看到。

 

概述

背景

特点

背景

基本算法

模式展开法是求解麦克斯韦方程的全矢量--双向计算技术。该方法将电磁场分解为一系列特征模式,并将整个几何结构分为单元段,然后求解相邻界面上的模式。应用合适的边界条件获得每单元段上的散射矩阵,每段上的解双向传播用于计算器件的总透射率和反射率,以及最终的场分布。

相比其它传播方法的优势

  • 光束传播法(BPM): 与 要求缓慢变化的BPM不同, EME方法没有此项近似,它是一种严格解。BPM 方法的精度受限于大角度或者高折射率衬度,使得它不适合硅或者其它高折射率衬度材料系统的光子器件。
  • 有限差分时域法(FDTD): EME 可以很好地适用于大传播距离,是仿真大结构的理想方法;而基于FDTD的方法,虽然也是严格解,但是随着器件长度的增加仿真时间大为增加。

EME方法是优化大型波导结构的高效仿真技术。一旦获得了基础模式分布,再改变器件的长度或者周期个数对计算量的要求变化不大。此外,只需要一次仿真就可以得到所有输入模式和偏振态的结果。

特点

直观的用户界面和流程

Lumerical 提供直观的用户界面用于定义和参数化器件结构。在EME 仿真区,每个单元cells 以及相邻单元间的距离可以用简单的列表来定义。

图 1: 用EME 仿真的 MMI 耦合器。 红色线表示单元界面,其位置由上右图表定义。输入输出波导以及MMI 腔都可以用一个单元定义。楔形波导部分由于尺寸的变化需要更多的单元来分辨。

大型器件的高效优化方法

周期结构


 A unit cell of a fiber Bragg grating (FBG) can be simulated with 2 cells, one for the higher index region and one for the lower index region.

The result of a 20000 period FBG is shown

图2:(左)光纤布拉格光栅(FBG)可以用两个子单元模拟,一个高折射率区域和一个低折射率区域,周期数可任意设定。一个20000周期光纤光栅的结果如图(右)。 此应用的更多信息可以点击这里查看⇒(需要登录)

均匀结构


Only 3 cells are required to simulate an MMI coupler. Once the modes are calculated at each interface, the length of the core region can be scanned quickly without having to solve for any additional modes.

图3:只用3个单元就可以模拟一个MMI耦合器。一旦在每个界面上计算出模式,中心区域(腔体)的长度可以快速扫描,而不必需要计算任何额外的模式。

非均匀结构: 模斑转换器

EME solver and 3D FDTD

EME simulation takes 3 minutes to simulate 101 different taper lengths

图4:对文献[1]中模斑转换器用EME和3D FDTD计算的结果比较。模拟101个不同长度的楔形波导,EME只需要3分钟(蓝色方块),而3D FDTD模拟11种不同长度需要6个小时(绿色方块),了解更多请点击这里⇒

非均匀结构: 偏振转换器

The transmission into the fundamental TM and second-order TE mode of the output waveguide for the polarization converter

 This FDTD result improves as the mesh is increased from 10 grids per wavelength

图5:偏振转换器TM基模和二阶TE模式[2]的透射率。上图显示出在仿真大型结构时 EME比FDTD的优越之处。在长距离上两者之间的差别是因为FDTD网格的色散。时域有限差分的精度可以从每波长10网格(左)提高到每波长14格网格(右),代价是仿真时间更长,要了解更多请点击这里(需要登录)

包含共形和自适应技术的网格划分技术

Lumerical的 高级网格算法 和MODE Solutions 多线程模式求解引擎的有机组合意味着EME算法通常最花时间的界面特征模式计算可以很快高效和精确地计算出来。

完善综合的光学求解器

在MODE Solutions中,用户已经拥有了不同光学求解引擎的选择能力,包括本征模式求解引擎,2.5D变分法时域有限差分(varFDTD)求解引擎,以及模式展开法EME求解引擎。MODE Solutions 和 FDTD Solutions 共享相似的CAD界面,相同的结构、仿真区和分析工具可以互相使用。熟悉的设计环境和全面的求解工具使得MODE Solutions 和 FDTD Solutions成为器件高效设计工作流程的理想工具。


 For the polarization converter [2], the Eigenmode solver can be used to identify the regions where mode-crossings occur.

图6:对于文献[2]中的偏振转换器,本征模式求解引擎可以被用来识别何处发生模式重叠。由此可以使设计者在用EME仿真整个结构之前快速缩小设计的选择范围。了解更多信息请点击这里⇒(需要登录)

主动器件设计时与电学仿真软件的交互性

对于主动器件,除了使用MODE Solutions等进行光学仿真外,Lumerical的电荷传输软件DEVICE 也需要用来仿真载流子稳态和瞬态特性。 Lumerical的光学仿真与DEVICE之间的互操作性允许用户完全表征光电器件,如调制器和光电探测器等。

Absorption per unit volume along the Ge photodetector in [3]. This simulation takes under 1 minute to run using the EME solver, and 4 hours to run with 3D FDTD.

图7:沿着锗光电探测器的单位体积吸收[3]。这种仿真用EME只需不到1分钟的时间,而用3D FDTD需要约4小时。了解更多信息请点击这里

光子集成线路仿真用的紧凑模型参数提取

EME求解引擎自动计算出器件的S参数矩阵,可以被导入到INTERCONNECT组件库中和用于研究光子集成线路的线路级响应, 例如图8所示的DPSK调制器。

DPSK Transciever Circuit in INTERCONNECT

DPSK Transciever Circuit in INTERCONNECT

图8:INTERCONNECT仿真DPSK信号收发器[4](左)。MMI耦合器的紧凑模型是根据EME仿真的MMI耦合器[5]结果提取的S参数(右)。

参考文献

[1] T. Tsuchizawa et al, “Microphotonics devices based on silicon microfabrication technology”, IEEE J. Select. Topics Quantum Electron., 11, 2005, 232-240.

[2] D. Dai et al, “Mode conversion in tapered submicron silicon ridge optical waveguides”, Journal. Optics Express. Vol. 20, No. 12, 2012
[3] T. Y. Liow et al, “Silicon modulators and Germanium photodetectors on SOI: monolithic integration, compatibility and performance optimization”, IEEE J. Select. Topics Quantum Electron., Vol. 16, No. 1, 2012
[4] M. Hai and O. Liboiron-Ladouceur, “Robust and compact 45 GB/s MMI-based SOI-DPSK Demodulator for on-chip optical IO layer”, CLEO, June 2013
[5] D. J. Thomson et al, “Low loss MMI couplers for high performance MZI modulators” IEEE Photonics Technol. Lett. 22, 2012, 1485 -1487

 

该E-mail地址已受到防止垃圾邮件机器人的保护,您必须启用浏览器的Java Script才能看到。

Worldwide:  English  |  简体中文 |  日本語
 
 

Eigenmode Expansion (EME) Solver

Home > Product Center > MODE Solutions > Eigenmode Expansion (EME) Solver

Lumerical’s new 2D/3D bi-directional Eigenmode Expansion (EME) solver in MODE Solutions complements the existing Eigenmode and 2.5D variational FDTD solver (varFDTD) to make MODE Solutions a complete and comprehensive design environment ideal for virtual prototyping of fiber and waveguide components.

Overview

Background

Features

Background

Basic Algorithm

The EME method is a fully vectorial and bi-directional technique to solve Maxwell's equations. The methodology relies on the modal decomposition of electromagnetic fields into a basis set of eigenmodes, which are computed by dividing the geometry into multiple cells and then solving for the modes at the interface between adjacent cells.  Scattering matrices for each section are formulated by applying boundary conditions at the interface between each section. The solution to each section is then propagated bi-directionally to calculate the total transmission and reflection of the device, as well as the final field profile.

Advantages Over Other Propagation Methods

  • Beam propagation methods (BPM): unlike BPM, which relies on a slowly varying envelope approximation, the EME method makes no such approximations and is a rigorous technique. The accuracy of BPM also becomes compromised for propagation at large angles, or in components with high refractive-index contrast, making it unsuitable for photonic components manufactured from silicon or other high index contrast material systems.
  • Finite-difference time-domain (FDTD) methods: the EME method scales exceptionally well with propagation distance and is an ideal method for simulating long structures whereas FDTD-based methods, while rigorous, exhibit significant increases in simulation times as the length of the device increases.

The EME method is very efficient for optimization of large waveguide components. Once the basis set of modes are computed for the EME method, there is very little additional computation required to change the length or number of periods of the device. In addition, only one simulation is required to obtain the result for all input modes and polarizations.

Features

Intuitive User Interface and Workflow

Lumerical provides an intuitive user interface for defining and parameterizing the device geometry. In the EME solver region, the location of the cells as well as the span between each cell can be defined in a simple tabular format.

Figure 1: An MMI coupler simulated using the EME solver. The red lines (left) indicate the location of the interfaces, as specified in the table to the right. The input and output waveguides, as well as the MMI core can be represented with only one cell. The tapered sections require more cells to resolve the geometry.

Efficient Optimization Tool for a Large Variety of Geometries

Periodic Structure


 A unit cell of a fiber Bragg grating (FBG) can be simulated with 2 cells, one for the higher index region and one for the lower index region.

The result of a 20000 period FBG is shown

Figure 2: (Left) A unit cell of a fiber Bragg grating (FBG) can be simulated with 2 cells, one for the higher index region and one for the lower index region. The number of periods can be set arbitrarily. The result of a 20000 period FBG is shown (right). Learn more about this application⇒ (Login required)

Uniform Structures


Only 3 cells are required to simulate an MMI coupler. Once the modes are calculated at each interface, the length of the core region can be scanned quickly without having to solve for any additional modes.

Figure 3: Only 3 cells are required to simulate an MMI coupler. Once the modes are calculated at each interface, the length of the core region can be scanned quickly without having to solve for any additional modes.

Non-uniform structures: Spot-Size converter

EME solver and 3D FDTD

EME simulation takes 3 minutes to simulate 101 different taper lengths

Figure 4: Compares the transmission for the spot-size converter in [1] calculated using the EME solver and 3D FDTD. The EME simulation takes 1 minute to simulate 101 different taper lengths (blue squares), whereas 3D FDTD takes 6 hours to simulate 11 different taper lengths (green squares). Learn more about this application⇒(Login required)

Non-uniform structures: Polarization Converter

The transmission into the fundamental TM and second-order TE mode of the output waveguide for the polarization converter

 This FDTD result improves as the mesh is increased from 10 grids per wavelength

Figure 5: Shows the transmission into the fundamental TM and second-order TE mode of the output waveguide for a polarization converter [2]. The strength of EME for larger device lengths is seen in comparison with FDTD analysis. The discrepancy between the EME and FDTD results at longer taper lengths is due to FDTD grid dispersion. Accuracy of the FDTD simulation improves as the mesh is increased from 10 grids per wavelength (left) to 14 grids per wavelength (right), at the cost of higher simulation time. Learn more about this application⇒(Login required)

Advanced Meshing Algorithms Including Conformal Mesh and Graded Mesh

The combination of Lumerical’s advanced meshing algorithms and MODE Solutions multi-threaded mode-solving engine means that the calculation of the basis set of eigenmodes for all interfaces, often the most time consuming part of the EME algorithm, can be carried out quickly, efficiently and accurately.

Complete and Comprehensive Selection of Optical Solvers

In MODE Solutions, users have the ability to choose from a variety of optical solvers. This includes the Eigenmode solver, the 2.5D variational FDTD (varFDTD) solver, and the EME solver. MODE Solutions and FDTD Solutions share a familiar CAD environment in which the same structures, simulation mesh and analysis tools can be used across different solvers. The familiar design environment and comprehensive suite of solver tools makes the combination of MODE Solutions and FDTD Solutions ideal for efficient component design workflows.


 For the polarization converter [2], the Eigenmode solver can be used to identify the regions where mode-crossings occur.

Figure 6: For the polarization converter in [2], the Eigenmode solver can be used to identify the regions where mode-crossings occur. This allows one to quickly narrow down the design choices prior to running full simulations of the entire device using the EME solver.Learn more about this application⇒(Login required)

Interoperability With Electrical Solvers for Active Components

For active components, in addition to optical simulation using MODE Solutions, Lumerical’s charge transport solver DEVICE is required to simulate the steady-state and transient behavior of the charge carriers. Interoperability between Lumerical’s optical solvers and DEVICE allows one to completely characterize optoelectronic components such as modulators and photodetectors using an efficient workflow.

Absorption per unit volume along the Ge photodetector in [3]. This simulation takes under 1 minute to run using the EME solver, and 4 hours to run with 3D FDTD.

Figure 7: Absorption per unit volume along the Ge photodetector in [3]. This simulation takes under 1 minute to run using the EME solver, and about 4 hours to run with 3D FDTD. Learn more about this application.

Compact Model Parameter Extraction for Photonic Integrated Circuit Simulations

The EME solver automatically computes the component S parameters matrix, which can be imported into a library of circuit components in INTERCONNECT and used to study the circuit-level response of a photonic integrated circuit such as the DPSK modulator shown in Figure 8.

DPSK Transciever Circuit in INTERCONNECT

DPSK Transciever Circuit in INTERCONNECT

Figure 8: A DPSK transceiver circuit [4] in INTERCONNECT (left). The MMI coupler compact models are based on the S parameters extracted from an EME simulation of the MMI coupler in [5] (right).

References

References

[1] T. Tsuchizawa et al, “Microphotonics devices based on silicon microfabrication technology”, IEEE J. Select. Topics Quantum Electron., 11, 2005, 232-240.
[2] D. Dai et al, “Mode conversion in tapered submicron silicon ridge optical waveguides”, Journal. Optics Express. Vol. 20, No. 12, 2012
[3] T. Y. Liow et al, “Silicon modulators and Germanium photodetectors on SOI: monolithic integration, compatibility and performance optimization”, IEEE J. Select. Topics Quantum Electron., Vol. 16, No. 1, 2012
[4] M. Hai and O. Liboiron-Ladouceur, “Robust and compact 45 GB/s MMI-based SOI-DPSK Demodulator for on-chip optical IO layer”, CLEO, June 2013
[5] D. J. Thomson et al, “Low loss MMI couplers for high performance MZI modulators” IEEE Photonics Technol. Lett. 22, 2012, 1485 -1487

 

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Get Started Today!

Free 30 Day Download

30 Day Trial Download
Download Now ⇒

Watch the Videos Lumerical Video Center
Watch Now ⇒

Lumerical Knowledge Base

Knowledge Base
Visit Now

 

Technical Questions?

Contact technical support:
Email/support@lumerical.com
Tel/1.604.733.9006 x400

Contact Sales

Request a Price
Email/sales@lumerical.com
Tel/1.604.733.9006 x100
Find a Local Representative